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PURPOSE 
 
The purpose of the Drug Offender Classification (DOC) is to eliminate drug use by providing 
disincentives for the distribution, possession and use of drugs/intoxicants by inmates through 
suspension of telephone, visiting and/or other privileges within the Nebraska Department of 
Correctional Services (NDCS). 
 
GENERAL 
 
The Drug Offender Classification promotes participation in substance abuse programs, and imposes 
disincentives to engaging in drug/intoxicant -related activities by limiting an inmate’s interaction with 
persons outside of the Department to decrease an inmate’s opportunity to access, acquire, distribute 
or use drugs/intoxicants.   
 
If an inmate’s personalized plan does not already require substance abuse programming, it will be 
recommended that any inmate classified as a drug offender participate in a substance abuse 
program.   
 
PROCEDURE 
 
I. AN INMATE MAY BE CLASSIFIED AS A DRUG OFFENDER IF THE INMATE ENGAGES IN 

DRUG/INTOXICANT RELATED ACTIVITIES. 
 

A. “Drug/intoxicant related activities” include, but are not limited to possession, use or 
distribution of unauthorized drugs/intoxicants or refusal to provide a urine specimen 
to be tested for unauthorized drugs/intoxicants.  

 
B. “Unauthorized drug/intoxicant” as used in this Administrative Regulation means any 

drug/intoxicant or substance that Nebraska law makes illegal to use, possess or 
distribute; alcohol; any medication that has not been prescribed for the inmate; any 
medication for which the prescription has expired; any medication that is not 
consumed as specified by a prescription.  

 
C. An attempt to engage in a drug/intoxicant -related activity may be sufficient to classify 

an inmate as a drug offender. 
 

D. If an inmate on Drug Offender Classification is considered for community custody 
placement, his/her Drug Offender Classification status shall be reviewed at the time 
of his/her custody classification review.    

 
II. DRUG OFFENDER CLASSIFICATION REFERRALS  
 

Any inmate involved in a drug/intoxicant -related activity may be referred to the unit 
classification committee for consideration of classifying the inmate as a drug offender. 

 
A. An inmate can be classified as a drug offender even if no disciplinary action is 

brought against the inmate, or a disciplinary action is dismissed or reversed.  
 

B. Drug Offender Classification (DOC) cannot be imposed by a disciplinary committee 
as a disciplinary action/sanction.  
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C. Drug Offender Classification will include the following: 

 
1. Drug Offender Classification form 

 
2. Notice/Waiver of Classification Hearing 

 
3. Misconduct Report Disposition 

 
III. PRIVILEGE SUSPENSION  
 

A. The visiting and telephone privileges of an inmate classified as a Drug Offender are 
subject to suspension for the following time periods: 

 
1. First Drug Offender Classification  30 days 

 
2. Second Drug Offender Classification  60 days 

 
3. Third Drug Offender Classification 90 days 

 
4. Fourth and Subsequent Drug Offender Classification 6 months 

 
B. If an inmate classified as a drug offender engages in any additional drug/intoxicant -

related activities, the Warden may extend the length of time that the inmate will be 
classified as a drug offender. 

 
1. The extension of the drug offender classification may not exceed the amount 

of time established above for the number of drug offender classification 
actions that have been imposed on the inmate previously.   

 
EXAMPLE:  If an inmate on his/her first drug offender classification engages 
in drug/intoxicant -related activity, the length of the drug offender 
classification can be extended by 60 days for a total of 90 days.  

 
2. The total period of the drug offender classification cannot exceed six months 

from the date of the last drug offender classification imposed by the Warden.    
 

EXAMPLE:  If an inmate’s drug offender classification is for six months and 
the inmate engages in another drug/intoxicant related activity while so 
classified, a new six-month period of drug offender classification shall begin 
on the date the Warden approves the classification action.  The total period 
of the Drug Offender Classification cannot exceed six months from the date 
of the last Drug Offender Classification sanctions were imposed. 

 
IV. TELEPHONE AND VISITING GUIDELINE FOR DRUG OFFENDER CLASSIFICATION 
 

A. Only legal and clergy visits will be allowed while an inmate is classified as a drug 
offender.  

 
B. Only verified family emergency and legal telephone calls will be allowed while an 

inmate is classified as a drug offender. 
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C. Each time a drug offender classification goes into effect or the length of the drug 

offender classification is extended, an inmate may make one telephone call as 
outlined below. 

 
1. The telephone call will be to a person on the inmate’s authorized telephone 

list. 
 

2. The purpose of the telephone call is to notify the person that the inmate has 
been classified as a drug offender or the length of the drug offender 
classification has been extended. 

 
3. The inmate will select the person to be called. 

 
4. The call will be made on a staff telephone. 

 
5. The notification telephone call is limited to not more than five minutes.   

 
REFERENCE 
 
I. ATTACHMENTS:  None 
 
II. ACA STANDARDS: None 
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